top of page

Wishes Magazine - Why you will regret not hiring a videographer for your wedding

We met with Megan Lalonde, writer for the article about wedding videos for the wishes magazine. We met at camp, one of my favorite little coffee shop here in Whistler. It's pretty dangerous bringing me in there, I want to buy everything! Megan started off by wanting to know a little more about me. I explained that since I was a child I have always been captivated by the visuals of life and form around me. I have always had a tendency to follow the light to the most beautiful of moments and I found I could capture the memories of these moments through filmmaking and photos. Growing up in Gatineau offered a wealth of inspiration with the architecture of old Ottawa to the many faces that come with city life. As I grew older there was always something calling me away from the city lights and when I arrived in Whistler BC in 2013 I realized it had been the mountains all along.


Then we jumped right into our favorite subject, weddings!




Wedding trends are forever evolving, as well as videography. Wedding Videos are no longer hours and hours long of footage, but rather highlighting the most important and beautiful moments that should be remembers and shared. I hear often that videography is always the last thing a couple wants to invest in their weddings but it should be the first; a video can capture that real emotion, it puts life into your memories, gives you the ability to re-live this day that goes by SO fast over again. It almost acts as couple’s therapy in the future, I laugh when I explain this to my couples! It reminds you why you got married in harder times… I would especially suggest my services for elopement weddings, it give you the ability to share your day with everyone who couldn’t attend!


My video style is organic, simple and a bit goofy. I have great intuition and it’s given me the ability to quickly adjust and bend my style and connect with my clients to create their vision. I’m an emotional girl with an old soul so I love making everyone feel something as they watch my movies, when I’ve made my boyfriend cry I know I got it right! I am growing in my art form every day. What I love the most about doing what I do is the people I meet a long the way. The wedding industry is such a tight, and encouraging community, everyone is so welcoming and to be able to give back in that industry has been an honour!


Calling Mountains Productions is a people production company. We want to grow and expand in the sea to sky but we never want to have exorbitant prices because we always want our market and clients to stay the mountain people. Authentic, real, happy people! We want them to be able to afford our services but still afford to go out in the mountains and do what they love!


We use up to date camera equipment, 4k high resolution image quality . We recently got a drone and top of the line audio equipment. I believe drone aerial footage gives you the ability to have a different angle, and complements your story. Especially if you chose the Sea to Sky corridor to get married, you want to capture the scenic views.


Videography at weddings can be a disaster if you don't hire a professional, you need to be able to work cohesively with the photographer, event planner without making it seem like you are shooting a movie. By hiring exports we will make sure that your wedding doesn’t turn into a movie set, by choosing non-invasive equipment and direction. I love working with photographers, I think if done properly there can be a beautiful cohesive partnership between the photographer and videographer.


Look out for her article coming out in the new 2018 Wishes Magazine!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page